Home > Blog Admin, Faith & Family, Theology > Choices and Changes

Choices and Changes

Actually, this is not a political post despite what the title may have suggested in light of previous campaign slogans.  It is an information post regarding the future of this blog.  I’ve made no secret of the fact that blogging is merely a hobby and not an obsessive profession, or anything in between.  As life goes on, changes happen that force choices to be made in response.

Some of you may have noticed a decrease in the frequency in my visits to your blogs, and an even greater drop in the frequency of my own posts.  Moreover, the content of my posts has devolved to, in many cases, selected editorial cartoons with my commentary restricted to the title and perhaps a few choice words.  There is a reason.

I am approaching one of those significant life altering events with some twists and turns that are demanding more and more of my time and thought, as they should.  The situation may be briefly described in the following bullet points thus:

  • my adult daughters have moved out not only of our house but out of state and are happily ensconced in South Carolina teaching at a Christian liberal arts university;
  • my house is on the market here in Chicagoland (if you or anyone you know wants to move to the north suburbs of Chicago, they have my condolences, but by all means, put them in touch through my email);
  • once my house sells, I will be retiring from my job of 25+ years as a research biochemist here in the land of Lincoln to join my daughters;
  • where I actually already have a job awaiting me in the same university, if I can get there in a reasonable timeframe.

I trust y’all (practicing my Southern already) can see that this is introducing a modicum of stress into my life that squeezes out blogging at the quality level I try to achieve here at the Interface.  I hope to be able to continue as I have two series still to complete (one on Creation/Evolution and one on Christian apologetics, both of which are nearing their terminus), but my output at least for now must decrease.  And there are a few other considerations as well.  (Be forewarned, what follows is applied theology of a decidedly Christian nature.  Liberals are encouraged to inoculate themselves with whatever reality bender they normally use to ignore such information.)

Over on the top right of this blog, you will note that one of my goals for this blog is to be “like…the sons of Issachar who had understanding of the times, to know what Israel ought to do…” (1 Chronicles 12:32).  Now I ask you, how did the sons of Issachar acquire this wisdom and insight, this understanding of the times?  They had no Internet, no TV, no radio, news was word of mouth and severely limited to what people could carry with them from point A to point B at the pace of how fast their donkey, camel, horse, or own two feet could travel.  The answer is actually not a great mystery if you are familiar with their primary textbook, the Old Testament of the Bible.  There we find:

Oh, how I love Your law! It is my meditation all the day.  You, through Your commandments, make me wiser than my enemies; For they are ever with me.  I have more understanding than all my teachers, For Your testimonies are my meditation.  I understand more than the ancients, Because I keep Your precepts.   (Psalm 119:97-100 [NKJV])

Or consider:

This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.  (Josh 1:8 [NKJV])

What is the prerequisite for success? for wisdom and understanding?  Daily meditation on God’s Word.  And for those who think this implies Bibliolatry (making an idol out of a book), realize you must incorporate the totality of Scripture (a finite volume so not an impossibility) into your model of reality with which you are trying to rationalize your own intransigence, cover your ignorance, or otherwise disagree (see my page on how to truly disagree intelligently).  For example, how else does one explain:

I will worship toward Your holy temple, And praise Your name For Your lovingkindness and Your truth; For You have magnified Your word above all Your name.  (Ps 138:2 [NKJV])

or

The law of the LORD is perfect, converting the soul; The testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple; The statutes of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart; The commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes; The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring forever; The judgments of the LORD are true and righteous altogether.  More to be desired are they than gold, Yea, than much fine gold; Sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb.  Moreover by them Your servant is warned, And in keeping them there is great reward.  (Ps 19:7-11 [NKJV])

God gave us His Word as an owner’s manual for His creation.  We are fools indeed to ignore it and use it as He prescribes.  What I’m trying to say here is that I personally need to be spending more time doing the above and less time surfing the web.  The providential circumstances imminent in my life require this of me if I am to meet the challenges coming my way in a gracious and efficient manner.

So…this post is a forewarning of things to come, or not come as the case may be.  I will still post here, and visit your sites as time allows.  Perhaps the best way to be sure to catch new material is to subscribe.  And future posts will probably be taking a more theological tack (although the interface of theology with life has always been a part of this blog).  If you have subscribed with my more political posts in mind and don’t want the theology, I will not be offended if you unsubscribe.  That said, I truly hope you will stay as anything I post I hope will be of some benefit to any readers thereof.

  1. 24 Feb 2012 at 10:14 AM

    This post clearly emanates from your heart, Interface. Many thanx.

    While I will be in prayer for the “obvious,” please advise of any more specific requests you might have.

    Your posts in the past have always been a source of learning in one way or another. I suspect that won’t change in the future.

  2. 1 Mar 2012 at 12:03 PM

    ‘Face:

    Congrats on this new chapter in your life! Exciting and scary all at once, I’m sure you will tackle these new challeneges in stride, and we all look forward to hearing of your steps along the way!

    Again, congratulations!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Your thoughts?

