Home > History, Laughter=Best Medicine, Science & Technology > If you recognize this…

If you recognize this…

Can You Do Real Work With the 30-Year-Old IBM 5150?

…then you are a.) really old, b.) a true geek, or c.) both!

Check out this article in which a modern geek attempts to use the above for 21st century tasks.  The results may surprise you.

Why, you may ask, even bother doing this?  Because today is the 30th anniversary of the introduction of the IBM 5150, which box of electronics started our whole computer era.

  1. 13 Aug 2011 at 5:23 AM

    Well, color me old and weird! By the time this came on the market, I had already owned a VIC-20, Commodore 64, and a TRASH-80. Next came a Compaq Deskpro in a single self-contained design. Monitor, keyboard, and twin 8″ floppy drives mounted vertically for a compact footprint, and running a CPM OS with an early copy of Borland’s DBase II.

    I never owned a genuine IBM. Like most small businessmen, I opted for a clone strictly based on price. That is, if you can think of $2500 as being inexpensive for a XT clone that featured dual 5 1/4 floppies, monochrome monitor, and a gigantic 10 meg hard drive.(I recall thinking at the time; how would you ever fill up a 10 meg hard drive?)

    Thanks for the trip down Memory Lane!

  2. 13 Aug 2011 at 6:34 PM

    Well, well, I guess I’m one of the geeky oldsters because I worked on machines like that. LOL! I was a geeky tech back then.

  3. 15 Aug 2011 at 3:46 PM

    Careful! Y’all are dating yourselves! Yes, I too worked on one of these, and, courtesy of my employer, on virtually every other model in between then and now. I found the linked article very interesting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Your thoughts?

